* ICSE 2018 *
Sun 27 May - Sun 3 June 2018 Gothenburg, Sweden

Celebrating 50 years of Software Engineering

Call for participation - text format

ICSE, the International Conference on Software Engineering, is the premier software engineering conference, providing a forum for researchers, practitioners and educators to present and discuss the most recent innovations, research, experiences, trends and concerns in the field of Software engineering.

In 2018 ICSE will celebrate its 40th anniversary, and 50 years of Software Engineering - 50 years of tremendously successful promotion of research, education and practices in Software Engineering.

Some of the keynote speakers:

  • Brian Randell, Software Engineering pioneer, and contributor to the Whetstone Algol compiler,
  • Margaret Hamilton, Software Engineering and NASA legend,
  • Frederick P. Brooks, Jr, “The Mythical Man-Month: Essays on Software Engineering” author
  • Sara Mazur, Vice President and Head of Research at Ericsson

More details at https://www.icse2018.org/info/keynotes.

ICSE 2018 will also have an Industry Forum , an event dedicated to industry-academia cooperation.


ICSE 2018 is coming to Gothenburg, Sweden. Science and research are a genuine part of the Scandinavian culture visible through the institution of Nobel Prize awards. In addition, Sweden hosts high technology companies in which software plays an essential part.

Town Gothenburg with its two internationally renowned universities, with many ICT and ICT-related companies, with many cultural attractions, impressive modern infrastructure including the Scandinavian largest convention center, and surrounding beautiful nature is welcoming ICSE participants!


If you have not yet registered, there is still time to register at the reduced rate. *Early registration closes April 1st, 2018

Please visit https://www.icse2018.org/attending/Registration



ICSE 2018 will include a variety of exciting and diverse tracks.

Co-located events

In addition to 30 workshops, ICSE 2018 hosts the following co-located events.

  • ICGSE 2018 13th IEEE International Conference on Global Software Engineering
  • ICPC 2018 26th IEEE International Conference on Program Comprehension
  • MSR 201815th International Conference on Mining Software Repositories
  • MOBILESoft 2018 5th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Mobile Software Engineering and Systems
  • SEAMS 2018 13th International Symposium on Software Engineering for Adaptive and Self-Managing Systems
  • TechDebt 2018 International Conference on Technical Debt
  • ICSSP 2018 International Conference on Software and System Processes (ICSSP requires a separate registration)
  • SEiA 2018 Symposium on Software Engineering in Africa
  • FormaliSE 2018 6th Conference on Formal Methods in Software Engineering

Further Information


  • General chair ° Ivica Crnkovic
  • Conference chair ° Michel Chaudron
  • Pc co-Chairs ° Marsha Chechik and Mark Harman
  • Journal paper first ° Gerardo Canfora
  • Workshop co-Chairs ° Paul Gruenbacher and Dimitra Giannakopoulou
  • NIER co-Chairs ° Andrea Zisman and Sven Apel
  • 50 years of SE ° David Rosenblum and Nenad Medvidovic
  • Industry Forum co-Chairs ° Pekka Abrahamsson and Judith Bishop
  • SEET co-Chairs ° Patricia Lago and Michal Young
  • SEIP co-Chairs ° Frances Paulisch and Jan Bosch
  • SEIS co-Chairs ° Valerie Issarny and Schahram Dustdar
  • Technical Briefings co-Chairs ° Jane Cleland-Huang and Per Runeson
  • Doctoral Symposium ° Tracy Hall and Julia Rubin
  • Demonstrations ° Tien Nguyen and Anne Koziolek
  • Posters ° Raffaela Mirandola and Yuriy Brun
  • New Faculty co-Chairs ° Lars Grunske, Betty Cheng, and Xaioying Bai
  • Co-located events ° Thomas Zimmermann
  • Most Influential Paper ICSE N-10 ° Volker Gruhn and Matthew Dwyer
  • ACM Student Research Competition ° Olga Baysal and Jun Sun
  • SCORE ° Christine Julien and Rafael Prikladnicki
  • Web Chair ° Josip Maras and Hugo Andrade
  • Student Volunteers chair ° Christian Berger and Birgit Penzenstadler
  • Proceedings chair ° Barbora Buhnova and Patrizio Pelliccione
  • Publicity co-Chairs ° Tao Xie, Henry Muccini, Federico Ciccozzi, and Ivano Malavolta
  • Submission chair ° Yue Jia
  • Communication Chair ° Malin Ulfvarson
  • Local Industry Chair ° Jaana Nyfjord